30 Days of Running in Quarantine

My second attempt at the 100-mile distance was set for Friday, March 20th, 2020 on Antelope Island, Utah. Most people know of Antelope Canyon and have a mental image, but if you haven’t heard of this island, it should be on your radar! The scenery looks breathtaking with both beautiful mountain landscapes and coastal views. There are even wild Antelope and Buffalo roaming all around the island. Another running friend was planning to run the race, and a few other friends of ours from this area were planning to come along to crew and pace. I took the liberty to Google this place for your viewing pleasure:

Antelope Island - Camping Near Salt Lake City - Utah Travel ...

Our plans for a spectacular road trip and weekend of ultrarunning came to a screeching halt on March 13th, when the race director emailed us runners that the race was officially cancelled due to Covid19. Oooof. I was certainly disappointed with the decision and the lack of opportunity to test myself and about 5 months worth of training at this distance again—not to mention writing a blog post about my race experience! However, this is not a blog post about the decision to cancel the race, my emotions surrounding this decision, or what I feel should or shouldn’t have happened with our entry fees. Rather, this post is about what I did in response to something out of my control, one of those life circumstances that we face all the time, not just during #quarantinelyfe.

On March 17th, a day or so after shit got real here in Northern Colorado, I went out for a run with my Boston Terrier puppy Mitsu (see image below). We enjoyed the sunshine together, and she’d occasionally look up at me with the biggest grin on her face that said “This is pure bliss, isn’t it?!” I was actually quite impressed by her stamina throughout our easy and casual 2.5-mile run. While we were running, I wished that we could do this every day and enjoy the sunshine, increased heartbeats, and freedom together. I knew for practical reasons that running with Mitsu every single day might not be the best idea for her—being a young, short-nosed doggo whose breed is prone to knee injuries and breathing difficulties in heat—or for me—someone who loves long distance running and alone time—but I took that thought a bit further and decided to start a running streak.

91398944_2482011118718051_2023109732544385555_n(1)

Since races, travel, and so many other events were being cancelled, I decided I needed to focus on a challenge that would be unaffected by all of these changes. A running streak felt totally within my control and the unknown of what my body was capable of excited me. My previous record for my longest running streak was 10 days at the longest, it could have been only 7 days. When I decided to start the streak, I didn’t necessarily have a set number in mind, ideally, more than 7-10 days, but I wanted this process and challenge to ‘run its course’. I trusted my gut that I would know when to end it, and I would remain open to what I would get out of the experience. I had a good feeling that I would learn a least a thing or two that I could apply towards future training blocks and future running/fitness goals. So, what were they, you ask? Here’s a short list:

  • More enjoyment: In the sense that I wasn’t focused on specific mileage or pace, just getting my legs moving, enjoying my time outside and appreciating that run, however long it lasted. This may also be categorized as ‘living in the moment’. Each run wasn’t just another check box to tick during the weekly training log.
  • More freedom: I was free from a training plan and mental expectations about what to do each day based on how I was feeling. Sure, I still incorporated speed workouts and long runs as much as I could, because variety is nice, and I want to stay in solid shape.
  • Stronger mental outlook: Some days, I felt like crap, and I anticipated my run being difficult. Sometimes they were, and getting through them felt like an accomplishment in itself. At other times, I had no idea why or how it was possible for me to feel so good. In the early days, keeping the streak going challenged and strengthened my mental attitude before, during, and after each run. I became less and less likely to rule myself and my legs out just because I was feeling tired or because I’d run consecutively more days than ever before. To put this into perspective, on day 22, I was feeling emotionally tired and physically pretty sore. At the time, it was the longest streak I’d ever had. On this day, I had a great run and it totally surprised me, reshaping the way I put limitations and expectations on my run, even before my first step.
  • Less strength? This could be in my head and could be different for every individual but my muscles feel so weak at day 25-26 and even today on day 30. Even with slightly more time in my day thanks to working from home and #quarantinelyfe , I think running every day erased my time for cross training and strength exercises (All the gyms being closed certainly didn’t help with this…). Continuing the streak at this point does not seem wise, and I would hate to wrap up #quarantinelyfe with a new injury.
  • Quantity < Quality: This is something every runner hears at some point in their career. Less is more, make time for rest, eliminate garbage miles, etc., but I truly think we all have our own limits and it’s important to learn them through our own experiences. How much is too much? How long do I need to recover? I have tried to run high mileage while working full time and while in grad school, but I know I can only maintain it for a short period of time and likely only during certain seasons of the year. This streak was no different. As much as I want to be someone who runs 5-8 miles every morning before breakfast or work, it’s just not where I am at right now. I think with an improvement in my overall fitness, a decrease in overall stress level, and a bit more certainty in my life (yes, this is me admitting a 30-day streak may not have been ideal to start and follow through during a pandemic, when work life and home life stress and anxiety are at a lifetime high), I may be in a different boat. On another note, I am a lover of long runs, and the shorter runs that I did just to keep the streak going did seem to come at the cost of a long run.

Not only is this my longest running streak, but it also served as a way for me to refocus my feelings and frustrations with cancelled races, social events, roommate prison, etc. that make up this shelter-in-place life that has become the new normal. In the midst of all this chaos, I needed a challenge, and since racing a new distance was taken off the table, this was the most natural option. I decided to just run and see how long I could keep the streak up. My decision to end it today was well-timed: the wind during today’s 6-mile finale was beastly and generated more snot than I care to write about Also, more snow is predicted for tomorrow.

Overall, I am proud that I gave this a try. I definitely got more CDs (a good friend who grew up in the running community told me this is what the cool kids call consecutive days of running) than I expected when I started. I thought about ending it numerous times prior to the 30-day mark, but I am glad I decided to go for a whole month. So yes, tonight I am celebrating this accomplishment. It’s not with a 100-mile belt buckle or finisher’s plaque or anything race-related, but you better believe delicious food and beverages were had!

Here are some stats from the 30-day streak:

  • Total distance: 144.7 miles (to put this into perspective, I think my highest monthly mileage is close to 160 miles on foot, 200 miles including biking)
  • Total elevation: 6,582 feet, which is 45 feet per mile. Not too much and not too surprising since we’re in early spring here and mountain trails are a bit muddy and snowy
  • Warmest run: 72 degrees
  • Coldest run: 22 degrees
  • Longest individual run: 15 miles
  • Shortest individual run: 1 mile
  • Most scenic run: Coalton Trailhead loop
  • Most common running place: near my apartment on the US-36 bike path
  • Solo runs: 21
  • Road runs: 19
  • Trail runs: 11
  • Run conditions: dry, sunny, hot, warm, cold, snowy, muddy, wet, WINDY

Will I do it again?   Maybe, but not in the immediate future. I need more variety, rest, and time for my favorite long runs.

What will I do next?   I don’t know. The need for a new and exciting challenge has definitely subsided now, thanks to the streak, so I don’t necessarily feel like I need to run a new distance or set a new streak. I will definitely continue to exercise, move my body, and spend time outside with Mitsu! Perhaps try to improve my PR in the 5k or 10k? We’ll see!

Do I recommend a run streak?   Sure, if you’re motivated to see how many days you can run in a row and if it excites you. If not, why bother?

That’s all for now. I hope everyone is staying sane and well in these crazy, unprecedented times. If racing can continue in summer or early fall, there may be more blog posts before Javelina Jundred 100-mile race on Halloween! Third time’s the charm? I don’t dare have superstitions during a pandemic, do I?

81599689_192625445316164_3485322624483983360_n

Leave a comment